What is organic?
What is vegan?
Island Ice owners have worked in and practiced environmental advocacy and wellness for over twenty years. One facet of advocating a clean earth is to grow, eat, and support farms and manufacturers that create food without the use of pesticides and synthetic ingredients (like artificial food colors and preservatives). We are  excited to fulfill this demand on Isle of Palms for the year round community and visitors.

Eating Island Ice Frozen Yogurt is an enjoyable way to pay tribute to ourselves, friends, and our community. We offer vegan, gluten-free, non-dairy, kosher, all natural and organic yogurts!
What a fun way for us to come together and enjoy a clean, sweet treat that so many of us can eat?! Please come join us soon and tell us your wellness story (and favorite Island Ice yogurt concoction too)!! 
What is Kosher?
Organic foods and beverages cannot contain any artificial dyes, food preservatives or synthetic fillers. As my mom says, "When reading a list of ingredients, if you cannot pronounce it, don't eat it." 

​​Current USDA regulations allow food products that contain 95-100% certified organic ingredients to use the USDA Organic seal. These regulations prohibit the use of chemical fertilizers, various synthetic substances, irradiation, sewage sludge or genetically modified organisms (GMOs) in organic production (from the Non-GMO Shopping Guide).  
What is gluten-free?
A gluten-free diet excludes the protein gluten. Gluten is found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a cross between what and rye). 

Gluten causes inflammation in the small intestines of people with celiac disease.​​

Mayo Clinic experts suggest a gluten-free diet can have a variety of health benefits such as: improving cholesterol levels, promoting digestive health, and increasing energy leve
ls. ​​
Vegans, in addition to being vegetarians (not eating meat, fish or poultry), do not use other animal products and bi products such as eggs, dairy products. 

People choose vegan for health, environmental and/or ethical reasons.​​

From The Vegetarian Resource Group​​
Kosher food is that which has been prepared according to Jewish law. Kosher principles are laid out in the Torah and the rules abide by those set out by Kashrus - the comprehensive dietary laws. The only Kosher animals are cows, sheep and goats.

Dairy produce is only Kosher if it derives from one of the ​​aformentioned animalsand doesn't contain non-Kosher additives or products, however small, within it. Chocolate and other sweet snacks must be Kosher certified and be processed using equipment that abides by the dietary laws. Chocolate can either be 'dairy certified' or 'pareve.' From www.independent.co.uk/
What is All Natural?
From a food science perspective, it is difficult to define a food product that is 'natural' because the food has probably been processed and is no longer the product of the earth. That said, FDA has not developed a definition for use of the term natural or its derivatives. However, the agency has not objected to the use of the term if the food does not contain added color, artificial flavors, or synthetic substances.

From Federal Department of Agriculture